Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

Teaching Effective Clearing for College Players

I am a college coach and our team runs a spread offense. One of the biggest problems we are still struggling with is effective and consistent clearing (players tend to hang out close to the middle of the field or gravitate to where the disc is). Players tend to get better at this with time, experience, and getting active feedback when they aren’t clearing, but are there any drills to help work on this? Or any tips to help players grasp the concept better?

Appreciate the help.

I have run a drill in the past with varying degrees of success that requires cutters clearing to the rails to high five a teammate on the sideline before they can cut again --out or in. It’s a good drill for teaching players spatial awareness and realizing how far away the sideline actually is. It doesn’t always work well in a controlled scrimmage.

It pairs best with having a set of cuts prescribed for getting the disc off either sideline --clearing to the rails by nature emphasizes the middle of the field as the active space and I’ve had newer players struggle with adjusting their cutting when the disc isn’t centered.

I’m a huge advocate of The Cutting Tree, and the endless amount of variations you can add into it.

You could spread the cones out, or add two more to create the “positions” in a spread offense, and have players run though possible cutting progressions, or countless other changes.

The main reason I like running something like this as frequently as possible is because it drills the idea of running through certain progressions into the mind, allowing players to eventually follow through with it without having to consciously remember it all the time.

2 Likes

I’ve used the cutting tree as well. Our cutting out of a spread has certainly improved, but not nearly as much as I’d hoped. Might have to start with it earlier in the season.

Great question, which I am often trying to solve.