Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

All-Region 2017: Metro East (D-I Men's)

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007ff40bc36a98>

Who are the best players in the Metro East region? This is an open thread to discuss All-Region nominations, All-Freshman nominations, coaching awards, and more. Stay positive and keep it civil.

1 Like

FOTY: Sam Mlawer and Josh Shapiro have made a big impact on UR this year. Josh played high school ultimate at Needham. Mlawer also played high school ultimate in the Boston area. Josh has adapted really well to the college level. He plays high intensity defense and never leaves the fields without getting muddy. His throws are better than most of his upperclassmen teammates and knows how to play within his role. To the naked eye it may appear as if Sam Mlawer is unaware how to sprint, but don’t be fooled. Mlawer’s best attributes are his poise and his staggering ability to box out in the air. As a coach I sometimes get nervous when certain players are holding the disc, but never with Sam. He’s cool and collected - always. Expect Sam Mlawer to play every O point and Josh Shapiro to play every D point at Regionals this weekend!

1 Like

Binghamton University captains Michael Harley and Adam Neu were two of the best handlers in the Conference this year - both make great decisions, have excellent throws, are crafty cutters, and work their butts off on defense. Definitely deserving candidates.

1 Like

I am one of the captains for Syracuse this season and we definitely have a couple of guys who should be in the conversation for player of the year awards. Nathan Shapiro is a freshman from Bard High School in NYC. He can hit any spot on the field with his throws. He should be a front runner for freshman of the year, starting as an O-line handler and crossing over for D-points very frequently.