Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

Tuesday Tips: Tourney Time - The Week Before

Originally published at: https://discgolf.ultiworld.com/2019/02/05/tuesday-tips-tourney-time-week/

Photo: Alyssa Van Lanen

As we in the northern hemisphere continue to thaw out and prepare for the unofficial start to the disc golf season, there are plenty of people out there who have been fantasizing all winter about coming out the gate in 2019 and stacking Ws. Unfortunately, dreams are different than reality, so this article goes out to those players who can’t win yet but want to win soon.

Here are four practice tips for the week leading up to a tournament. They are meant to help you prepare mentally and physically to achieve the best possible outcomes. I should note, these tips are only useful if you can make at least one practice visit to the course before the big day. Four for the price of one! Can’t beat that.

Tip #1: Set your decisions

As a teacher, I was once given a “scientific” explanation for why the job is so stressful: constant decision-making. They say we make 35,000 decisions a day, and the closer you get to that number (or beyond), the more stressed out you become. Many teachers make their lunches and lay out their outfits at the beginning of the week just to save the extra brain power. On one hand, I think this is ridiculous pop-science. On the other hand… it actually kind of works.

Use your practice round(s) to resolve 18 decisions that are completely within your control: the disc-and-line combos — the shots that you will throw off the tee. Scrambling is improvisational and putting is putting. Those in-the-moment decisions are unavoidable and you will deal with them when the time comes. Tee shots, though, are decisions that carry more stress; the line was made to be hit and if you mess it up there is no hiding from the blame. I think the best thing you can do with a practice round is to take these stressful decisions out of the equation by making them ahead of time.