Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

All-Region 2018: Metro East (D-I Women's)

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007ff40c77a990>

Who are the best players in the Metro East region? This is an open thread to discuss All-Region nominations, All-Freshman nominations, coaching awards, and more. Stay positive and keep it civil.

Disclaimer: I am a graduate student at Columbia and play for Pandemic

All-Region:
Columbia:
Yuge Xiao- Yuge is one of the most consistent players I’ve had the pleasure of playing with. She’s crazy fast and an amazing cutter. She is a fundamental part of our offensive flow and knows how to crash a cup like it’s her job. Yuge is amazingly dedicated to ultimate and embodies not only intensity, but spirit.

Irene Golden- After graduating 8 people last year, I had lost almost all hope, but Irene stepped up to the freakin’ plate. During the club season she’s a D-line handler, but is one of Columbia’s strongest O-line handlers. She works so hard and pumps the team up with her amazing attitude and OI backhands

UConn:
Ariel Virgulto- (It took a lot of facebook stalking to find out her name) This lady is fierce. During Sectionals there were ~25 mph winds and she somehow caught ever wonky disc that came remotely close to her. UConn in general has amazing grabs, but this girl is the hungriest of them all. She played almost every point and forced Columbia to put our best defenders on her.

Marissa Aldieri- I almost always mark up on this girl and vice versa when we run person defense and it’s HARD! She’s fast and I generally think I’m good at boxing people out, but she’s one another level. I want to befriend this lady to learn her secrets.

All-Freshwoman:
Columbia
Marisa Schwartz- Marisa is one of my defense inspirations. She gets tons of run-through-Ds and has improved so much over this year. It’s been really awesome watching her growth and I know that by her senior year someone will have her one this thread for all-region.

Here are my nominations for all-freshmen team