Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

All-Region 2018: South Central (D-I Women's)

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007ff419a67f10>

Who are the best players in the South Central region? This is an open thread to discuss All-Region nominations, All-Freshman nominations, coaching awards, and more. Stay positive and keep it civil.

I coach the University of Arkansas ladies, and I would certainly nominate one of our seniors Brittany Stettmeier. Every team we’ve played this year is constantly aware of where she is on the field because she continuously throughout the game makes highlight plays and defends any throw on us deep. She’s not just arguably one of the best athletes on the field, but she’s greatly improved her throws this season and is a threat to break the mark at any point. She passionate, super competitive, and plays her best games against the best teams we’ve played this season (KU, JBU, etc.). I hope she gets consideration from the other teams that we’ve played this year.

I’m also a coach for the University of Arkansas Women’s team and I’d like to bring up Callie Zane as an All-Freshman candidate. Her skillset and maturity on the field separates her from other freshmen. She was able to seamlessly step into the middle-middle role in our zone defense, directing the cup and leading the team with an average of 2 D’s per game. Her outstanding play doesn’t stop on the defensive side of the disc. She leads the team in goals, with an average of 3 per game and also leads the team in pass completion percentage with 87% (only considering players who had at least 25 touches per game). Her versatility, both on Offense and Defense, makes her stand out among other 1-dimensional players and I hope she gets consideration from the other teams in our region.

1 Like

Wash U

• Sylvia Snyderman - playmaker, really quick in middle of the zone. She stuck out on the field at Sectionals with her play, as WUWU went undefeated.

Kansas