Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

The Benefits Of Offseason Training With The Ultimate Athlete Project

[caption id=“attachment_49180” align=“aligncenter” width=“800”]

Scandal’s Kristin Franke laying out for a goal at the 2016 Club Championships: Photo: Paul Rutherford – UltiPhotos.com[/caption]

This article was written by guest author Kristin Franke and is sponsored by Ultimate Athlete Project. Please support that brands that make Ultiworld possible.

I started playing elite ultimate in 2013, and I had no idea how to work out for it. Prior to 2013, I played a lot of pickup and league ultimate, as well as playing in tournaments a few times a year. Since no one was giving me direct advice about how to work out, I did what I knew how to do from my years as a high school cross country runner and swimmer: run three miles a day, do some circuit lifting on machines at a standard fitness center, play a lot of pickup and league ultimate.

I have never had a problem with the discipline of working out, or of getting myself to the gym. I’m also very good at doing exactly what someone else tells me will be good for me, because I don’t have very much experience in fitness planning, strength training, or scheduling. During my first few years on my current team, I made sure to do every workout that was sent to our email group. That worked well for the six months of the season, but left me in the lurch as soon as Nationals was over.

After Nationals 2015, I had started thinking about the offseason, knowing that I wanted to put in some time doing strength training, as I had heard through the grapevine that this would be good for me. However, I had no idea how to go about that! I had acquired some very basic knowledge about lifting, but no ways to structure or plan it.