Ultiworld Ultiworld DG

Tuesday Tips: In Praise Of The Common Bandana

Originally published at: https://discgolf.ultiworld.com/2019/05/07/tuesday-tips-praise-common-bandana/

As a kid, my adoration for clever survival gadgets greatly outweighed any actual need for them. Was there any reason a suburban kid needed a Mini-Maglite, a Leatherman, a survival bracelet, a Swiss Army Knife, and a compass? For a sleepover at a friend’s house? In the same neighborhood? Short answer: nooope.

I still had ‘em though.

I’ve cut back on the gadgets,1 but I still have an affinity for simple, handy accessories which is why the common bandana became a staple in my bag and back pocket as soon as I started playing disc golf. Today’s tip: Get a few bandanas.

The disc golf related reasons are pretty obvious. I mean, this is a square piece of fabric that can fit in your pocket; use it to dry or clean off your disc after it skips into the pond or lands in wet morning grass. The absorbency of a microfiber towel makes for a better option on a rainy day, but the thin, quick-drying bandana fabric is perfect for using a few times a round. Shake it out and leave it hanging off your bag in warm weather and you’ll be surprised how quickly it’s dry and ready to use again. Get a little bit of dirt dust on it and, ta-da, you’ve got an extremely bootleg Whale-Sac in hand.

As a bonus, my bandana functions as a kind of focus totem out on the course. When I used to play Ultimate, if I had to clear my mind after a bad play I would find a space away from teammates, kneel down, and very deliberately re-tie my cleats. These days I wear those quick-tie shoes from Adidas so the effect isn’t quite the same. Instead, I shake out and re-fold my bandana. The process is exceedingly controllable, precise, and tactile. It is exactly what I need to mentally recenter when an easy approach shot hits that one tree I had to miss.